Menu

Discover BSP

City of Art, Cultural Capital of Canada

Short on inspiration? Head to Baie-Saint-Paul. Did you know the town was named Cultural Capital of Canada in 2007? Not surprising, should you glance back in time. Many artists came to find inspiration in its colours, mountains and sea, wide open spaces and surrealist light. So many in fact that to count them, you’d need both hands and feet – and even then… Giants like Clarence Gagnon, A.Y. Jackson, Brymner, Cullen, Goldhamer, Jean Paul Lemieux and Marc-Aurèle Fortin all made Baie-Saint-Paul their home port at one time or another. And we’d be remiss if we didn’t also mention the contributions of popular modern artists Yvonne Bolduc, Georges-Édouard Tremblay and Mary Bouchard.

Certain homes where great masters once lived are now genuine mini museums open to visitors. Such is the case with the home of a formidable coureur des bois and artist who marked more than one generation of local painters. It is also said that contemporary artist Guy Paquet – known for his endless Charlevoix skies – spent hours recreating the world on one great master’s front porch.

 

For all these reasons, Baie-Saint-Paul is a beacon to art lovers. Just take in the high concentration of art galleries on rue Saint-Jean Baptiste (25+), the gorgeous cluster of exhibitions showcased at the Baie-Saint-Paul Museum of Contemporary Art, a refreshed look at culture and heritage at Carrefour culturel

Paul-Médéric, the success of each edition of the International Symposium on Contemporary Art(34th edition in 2016) and that of the Rêves d’Automne art festival, celebrating its 25th anniversary this year.

 

For a quick glance at Charlevoix’s history, go for a spin over by Rivière du Gouffre (behind Caisse populaire Desjardins) where, under Leclerc Bridge, an immense fresco spins the tale of Charlevoix’s history. With the changing seasons, it showcases its agricultural, cultural, recreational and religious heritage. Entitled D’hier à aujourd’hui, the opus was created by three talented Baie-Saint-Paul artists: Jean-François Lavoie, Jocelyn & Serge Gilbert.

Discover more inspirations
A vibrant city, all year long
Visit

Menu

Inspirez-vous

Ville d’art, capitale culturelle du Canada

En manque d’inspiration? Direction Baie-Saint-Paul. Saviez-vous que la ville avait été nommée Capitale culturelle du Canada en 2007? Pas surprenant quand on s’arrête à regarder un brin derrière. Ils ont été nombreux les artistes à venir s’inspirer des couleurs, de la montagne, de la mer, des grands espaces et de cette luminosité surréaliste. Tellement nombreux qu’on aura besoin des doigts des deux mains – et même des orteils – pour les compter…et encore. Des noms? Les grands Clarence Gagnon, A.Y. Jackson, Brymner, Cullen, Goldhamer, Jean Paul Lemieux et Marc-Aurèle Fortin ont fait de Baie-Saint-Paul leur port d’attache périodique. Plus près de nous, on s’en voudrait de ne pas mentionner l’apport des artistes populaires comme Yvonne Bolduc, Georges-Édouard Tremblay et Mary Bouchard.

Certaines maisons où vécurent de grands peintres sont devenues de véritables petits musées ouverts au grand public. C’est le cas de la résidence d’un formidable coureur des bois qui a marqué plus d’une génération de peintres de la région. On dit d’ailleurs que le peintre contemporain Guy Paquet – reconnu pour ses grands ciels de Charlevoix – aurait passé des heures à refaire le monde sur le balcon du maitre.

 

Pour toutes ces raisons, Baie-Saint-Paul est une ville d’art incontournable. On n’a qu’à voir la forte concentration de galeries d’art de la rue Saint-Jean Baptiste (plus de 25), la générosité des expositions du Musée d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul, la mise en beauté du patrimoine culturel régional au carrefour culturel Paul-Médéric et le succès de chacune des éditions du Symposium international d’art contemporain.

 

Pour un aperçu rapide de l’histoire de Charlevoix, allez faire un tour aux abords de la rivière du Gouffre (derrière la Caisse populaire Desjardins) où, en contrebas du pont Leclerc, une immense fresque raconte en images et au fil des saisons le patrimoine agricole, culturel, récréatif et religieux de Charlevoix. La fresque intitulée D’hier à aujourd’hui est l’œuvre de trois artistes talentueux de Baie-Saint-Paul, Jean-François Lavoie, Jocelyn et Serge Gilbert.

Découvrir d'autres inspirations
Une ville vibrante, à tout moment de l'année
Visiter